Shalewa Sharpe: Getting To Know Your Bad Bitches

by jayneoconnor

Using the questions from the board game “Real People” HydeATL gets to know the real people behind the readers and performers at Bad Bitches 2012 apocaBITCH.

shalewa_sharpe_street

In this installment of “Getting To Know Your Bad Bitches” we field answers from Shalewa Sharpe. Shalewa Sharpe made her Atlanta comedy debut in September 2009, but she has been hilarious since March 2011. She is interested in finding the humor in those dark solitary moments, where the light at the end of the tunnel is actually just your laptop screen at the end of your bed. The “e” in her first name sounds like “ay”, if that helps you with the pronunciation.

OCCUPATION: Media Analyst for BigChampagne/Live Nation. Fancy way of saying “I look up artists/songs/concerts and make sure they exist.” At night & on weekends, I crack jokes in front of strangers.

CHILDHOOD NICKNAME: No nickname. My Black Power parents were adamant about that.

A SECRET FANTASY: I’d like to be a Fly Girl. I took tap-dance classes though, so I think I’m going about it the wrong way.

UNUSUAL FACT: Huh. Okay, here’s a fact – there’s nothing unusual about me. I am possibly the most normal, L7 square you’ll meet. Also, I’ve never seen an Indian Jones movie.

PET PEEVE: People calling the Kroger on Ponce De Leon Avenue “Murder Kroger.” When I hear somebody say that, I want to kill them. At a Wayfield Foods.
I’D LIKE TO MEET: A guy who is attracted to me – those things are like unicorns wah wah wah wank wonk *weeps in her Sprite* (no, but really, dudes – what’s up? i put out.)
PERSONAL MOTTO: “You can’t afford the upgrade, so just make do with the crap you got.”
MOST PROUD OF: (1) My comedy and all of the things that have come with that. (2) That I haven’t accidentally killed my dog. (3) But mostly the comedy thing.
REPUTATION IN HIGH SCHOOL: Lord, that was so long ago. I’m guessing it was Girl Who Was Always Eating Frosted Flakes Out Of A Sandwich Bag.
THREE WORDS THAT DESCRIBE ME: Skeptical. Softy. Hungry.

Check out more of Shalewa in these very funny videos:

Bad Bitches 2012 apocaBITCH is December 20th at the Star Bar in Little 5 Points. A female spectrum review, apocaBITCH, will feature comedy, drag, burlesque, film, poetry, and essays as well as musical performances and followed by the End of the World Party.

The Star Community Bar is located at 437 Moreland Avenue NE, Atlanta. You can RSVP on facebook here.

One Comment to “Shalewa Sharpe: Getting To Know Your Bad Bitches”

  1. I’m totally attracted to Ms. Sharpe but being neither gay nor a man makes it kinda awkward. She sounds bawse tho’!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

